top of page
  • Writer's pictureHarley Boothroyd

CRITICALLY REFLECTING MY PHOTOGRAPHS

Since the last blog 'MATHEW FIN DOCUMENTARY PHOTOGRAPHER' held a huge part of my photographic practice I want to pick images and critically reflect on them and why I took them liking to my research and influence from weekly lectures.



Figure 1 Figure 2


These two photographs upon first inspection look like everyday documentation in a home, with they are but my thought process for these photographs was exploring the personas mentioned in my previous blogs. Capturing their personas of who I was told my dad was, what I wanted my dad to be and who he is.


My dad is everything I wanted to be without me even understand what I wanted him to be like. He is my dad had said that my dad suffers from mental health and can spend days In his room and this makes me feel uneasy as 80% of the time my dad is a happy and bubbly character.

Figure 1 is the outside of my dads' bedroom door. Figure 2 is his sofa, sloshed and messy just how he likes it.


However, I appreciate that these images cannot tell the viewer these facts only I know about my dad witch is why I want to build a portfolio of everyday documentation witch I can sequence together towards the end of my FMP and perhaps use text alongside to enforce the reason of the selected image.




Figure 3


My office.

when studying I gaze out of this window and when my dad returns formwork he gazes in pulls a face and makes me smile. He's home.

The little things we both do to cheer each other up are a key element within our relationship and just capturing these keeps the work grounded to telling our story.


From a technical angle id like to retake this image or perhaps create a moving image moving into another transdisciplinary studio as the key element being my dad in the window is not in focus and is hidden by cat prints up the widow.



Figure 4 Figure 5


Using inspiration from Jaimie colter workshop on the studio I set up a site bed sheet inside my concervaorty and opened the double doors to allow available natural light to flood in with my dad I'm figure 5 facing the open doors using my Canon T70 35mm film camera. The overcast day supplied some soft natural light along with the film aesthetic creating a soft natural tones image.


I then took my studio outside and German photographer August Sander work came to mind so using my garden as my studio, I placed my dad infant of me and placed my camera on a slightly lower angle creating the effect of looking up at him. Figure 4 was also taken on my 35 mm film so the natural tones from the film and overcast day create a soft aesthetic.




 

Figure List


Figure 1 Boothroyd , H. (2021). dads door . [photograph]. creative studio, documentation , Huddersfield .

Figure 2 Boothroyd , H. (2021). dads sofa . [photograph]. creative studio, documentation , Huddersfield .

Figure 3 Boothroyd , H. (2021). my office . [photograph]. creative studio, documentation , Huddersfield .

Figure 4 Boothroyd , H. (2021). dad full portrait . [photograph]. creative studio, documentation , Huddersfield .

Figure 5 Boothroyd , H. (2021). pop-upstudio portrait . [photograph]. creative studio, documentation , Huddersfield .

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page