top of page
  • Writer's pictureHarley Boothroyd

USING THE MAMIYA C330


Figure 0


As discussed in my previous blog about MEDIUM FORMAT and buying the mama c330 I had to learn how to use a camera all over again. The mamiya is a heavy twin lens medium format camera; Using square 6x6 format film stock. Gifted to me by a friend who is familiar with medium format her gave me 3 out of date film stock to see what I preferred.

The film I have trialed is


Figure 1 Figure 2. Figure 3 Figure 4



Figure 1 shows the back of the camera open to load the film, then fig 2 with the film threaded through the barrel. The next step is to wind the camera via the handle on the right-hand side so that the arrow is in line with the white marker inside the body this is shown in figure 3. Then close the camera and turn the silver clasp so that the back does drop open.

once the back is secure I needed to wind the camera up once more till hearing a clicking noise meaning the film is ready to be exposed.


To shoot on the Mamiya, and ensure I was exposing my film correctly and to the quality, I wanted to get from the camera I used a light metre app called lightmr see figure 5 . The app allows me to lock in particular setting such as the f stop as the lenses I have can only take 3.5, this allows me to correctly adult the other meters accordingly.


Figure 5 Figure 6


To over come disappointment in the future, as the first set of film I developed only had 5 exposures out of 12 this could be one of two things. one being I didn't expose them correctly or two that the film was affected as it was out of date. To avoid this I have used a note book as well as the lightmr app to record the setting I selected for each image. This will help when developing the film to see what images have exposed and help me understand why.

this method of recording will also enhance my knowledge of using film camera and become quicker at understanding light and exposure.


DIFFERENT STOCK


Ilford hp5 120

Figure 7


This is a black and white film with medium contrast, this stock separate the highlights shadows and mid-tones well capturing a crisp tones outcome. As this was the first film I had used In this camera and first medium format shoot I am not disheartened with the results. However, I would have liked to have developed all 12 exposures as I made no note of what images I took.


Kodak Portrait (EXPIRED)

Figure 8


The portrait is the worlds finest grain with high colour speed, at a true 400 ISO creating amazing skin tones and colour perfect for natural portraits. this film can also handle a large range of saturation. I saved this film for the portraits of my dad and me to utilise the film type to capture the incredible tones within the frame. Thia film stock is one of my favoured aethetics.


DEVELOPING


As I don't have a dark room or scanner at home I have chosen a well trusted photo print lab in Birmingham called Ag Photo Lab. recommended to a friend they provide wide range of services for film 35 mm and 120mm. To develop and scan digitally emails it cost me £14.98 including postage and a free post bag for my next roll. Their are many options some more expensive and some cheaper however at this stage the process and scan is ideal allowing me to revise high quality scans and the negative for future.




 

Reference

Ag PHOTO LAB . Ag Photo Lab. (2021). Best in Professional & Art Photographic Lab Services. Ag PHOTO LAB . https://www.ag-photolab.co.uk



Figure List


Figure 0 Boothroyd, H. (2021). Kodak Portrait (EXPIRED) . [negative ]. creative studio, medium format , Huddersfield .

Figure 1 Boothroyd, H. (2021).Mamiya c330 . [photograph ]. creative studio, medium format , Huddersfield .

Figure 2 Boothroyd, H. (2021).Mamiya c330 . [photograph ]. creative studio, medium format , Huddersfield .

Figure 3 Boothroyd, H. (2021).Mamiya c330 . [photograph ]. creative studio, medium format , Huddersfield .

Figure 4 Boothroyd, H. (2021).Mamiya c330 . [photograph ]. creative studio, medium format , Huddersfield .

Figure 5 Boothroyd, H. (2021).lightmr . [photograph ]. creative studio, medium format , Huddersfield .

Figure 6 Boothroyd, H. (2021).Mamiya c330,elephant . [photograph ]. creative studio, medium format , Huddersfield .

Figure 7 Boothroyd, H. (2021) Ilford hp5 120 , contact sheet . [photograph ]. creative studio, medium format , Huddersfield .

Figure 8 Boothroyd, H. (2021) Kodak Portrait (EXPIRED), contact sheet . [photograph ]. creative studio, medium format , Huddersfield .


16 views0 comments
bottom of page