top of page
  • Writer's pictureHarley Boothroyd

EXPERIMENTING- DOUBLE EXPOSURE, DRAWING AND TYPOLOGY

Throughout this module I have experimented with using a mixed media approach to the themes within my project in the transdisciplinary studio, these include digital, film and medium format photography, drawing, text, double exposure and illustration.

Each media has helped me explore the past, present, emotions, persona and documentation around my dad and me.

Double Exposure

I have explored digitally creating double exposures as a trial before using my Mamiya c330. I have begun creating the exposures digitally just to consider what works best and save money until I begin work for my FMP. These double exposures are again something I have never played within photography. Within the creative studio module, I have explored many avenues within and outside photography to create content and ideas to take further into my FMP.


Figure 1. Figure 2


These double exposures consist of film, medium format and detail photographs. A portrait I took of my dad, a portrait he took of me and then out home. merging these exposures together reinforces the interwoven DNA and emotional attachment we have now In the present. Visually presenting to the viewer in figure 1 that am I him and he is me. The idea for the double exposure came from studying a photograph I took of my dad through a window, the reflection of the trees around my dad in frame who was inside on the other side to the window looked a little like a double exposure in the way the bush lined up my dad to ensure no detail was lost.


Technique

To create these outcomes I used digital filed from the developed film scans

and the digital photographs and uploaded them into Photoshop experimenting

with different images overlaying them onto one canvas and changing the

opacity of the second layer to allow the first layer image to show through.


 

Line drawing

Looking at the documentary images of my home I wanted to pick out some key elements within the home to draw using an app called procreate. Using images I had taken and existing image of me and my dad I began creating a line drawing of elements in the photograph that represent me and my dad but show in a different medium.



Figure 3 Figure 4


Figure 5. Figure 6



 

Typography

Within recent experimentation using ink discussing in Blog 'MY INTERPRETATION OF 'CREATIVE DRAWING' WORKSHOP' My dad bribed the words 'Stolen Time' open a piece of paper using his inked figure. I began playing around with these worlds and some of my own in a response to what my dad has written and to explore further into the 3 personas discussed in the blog 'POSSIBLE, PLAUSIBLE, PROBABLE'.




Figure 7 Figure 8


Using influence from photographer Alex beldea and his project 'The long wait' to use the text ‘stolen time’ overlaying the original archive. The worlds Stolen time was written by my dad using his finger in an experimental activity using ink and our hand to draw inspired from a workflow delivered by artist Ryan on creative drawing. The words stolen time refers to the first 14 years of my life me and my dad did not get to share, the time was stolen and cannot be given back yet we choose to count every day from when we met as a blessing.

Overlaying the text over the archive reinforces the amount of time we have lost especially in comparison to present images I have a show of my dad and me.



Each of these experimentations has allowed me to use transdisciplinary studio to explore and create content around my themes of identity, loss, family, archive, past, present and personas all to aid me into thinking different about my FMP. Using mixed media in this experimental stave has allowed me to think into different avenues of my creativity to take forward into focusing on finer details next term.




 

Reference List

Beldea , A. (2020). The long wait . Alex beldea. https://www.alexbeldea.co.uk/documentary-1#/the-long-wait/


Figure List

Figure 1 Boothroyd , H. (2021). Dad and Me . [photograph]. double exposure , huddersfield .

Figure 2 Boothroyd , H. (2021). Home . [photograph]. double exposure , huddersfield .

Figure 3 Boothroyd , H. (2019). Me and dad . [photograph]. Scotland , Scotland .

Figure 4 Boothroyd , H. (2021). me and dad . [drawing ]. Line drawing, procreate , Huddersfield .

Figure 5 Boothroyd , H. (2021). dad . [drawing ]. Line drawing, procreate , Huddersfield .

Figure 6 Boothroyd , H. (2021). elephant . [drawing ]. Line drawing, procreate , Huddersfield .

Figure 7 Beldea , A. (2020). The Long Wait . [photograph ]. https://www.alexbeldea.co.uk/documentary-1#/the-long-wait/

Figure 8 Boothroyd , H. (2020 ). archive, stolen time. [photograph ]. Experiment FMP , Huddersfield .


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page